Rename or duplicate a workspace

  1. Choose Window > Workspace > Manage Workspaces.
  2. Do any of the following, and then click OK:
    • To rename a workspace, select it, and edit the text.

    • To duplicate a workspace, select it, and click the New button.

For a video on customizing the work area based on different workflows, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0032.

Save, delete, and switch between workspaces

By saving the current size and position of panels as a named workspace, you can restore that workspace even if you move or close a panel. The names of saved workspaces appear in the Window > Workspace menu.

In Photoshop, the saved workspace can include a specific keyboard shortcut set and menu set.

Save a custom workspace

  1. With the workspace in the configuration you want to save, do one of the following:
    • (Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign) Choose Window > Workspace > Save Workspace.

    • (Flash) Choose Window > Workspace > Save Current, or choose Save Current from the Workspace menu in the Edit bar.

    • (Photoshop) Choose Save Workspace from the Workspace menu in the options bar.

  2. Type a name for the workspace.
  3. (Photoshop) Under Capture, select one or more options:
    Palette Locations
    Saves the current palette locations.
    Keyboard Shortcuts
    Saves the current set of keyboard shortcuts.
    Menus
    Saves the current set of menus.
  4. Click OK.

Display or switch between workspaces

Flash, Illustrator, InDesign, and Photoshop include preset workspaces designed to make certain tasks easier.

  • Choose Window > Workspace, and select a workspace.
  • (Photoshop) Select a workspace from the Workspace menu in the options bar.
  • (Flash) Select a workspace from the Workspace menu in the Edit bar.
    GRA(InDesign and Photoshop) Assign keyboard shortcuts to each workspace to navigate among them quickly.

Delete a custom workspace

  • (Illustrator) Choose Window > Workspace > Manage Workspaces, select the workspace, and then click the Delete icon.
  • (InDesign) Choose Window > Workspace > Delete Workspace, select the workspace, and then click Delete.
  • (Flash) Choose Manage from the Workspace menu in the Edit bar, select the workspace, and then click Delete. Alternatively, choose Window > Workspace > Manage, select the workspace, and then click Delete.
  • (Photoshop) Choose Delete Workspace from the Workspace menu in the options bar. Alternatively, choose Window > Workspace > Delete Workspace, select the workspace, and then click Delete.

(Photoshop) Start with the last or default palette locations

When you start Photoshop, palettes can either appear in their original default locations, or appear as you last used them.

In Interface preferences:
  • To display palettes in their last locations on startup, select Remember Palette Locations.

  • To display palettes in their default locations on startup, deselect Remember Palette Locations.